Byzantine Monkey (2009)

byzantine monkey

John Hebert’s Byzantine Monkey

Firehouse 12 (CD)

Released: 2009; Recorded by Mike Marciano at Systems Two Recording Studios, Brooklyn, NY, May 27-28, 2008; Mixed and mastered by Nick Lloyd at Firehouse 12, New Haven, CT; Produced by John Hebert; Co-produced by Nick Lloyd & Taylor Ho Bynum; Illustrations and design by Megan Craig; Front cover inspired by original drawing by Mark Hebert.


  • John Hebert (bass, compositions)
  • Tony Malaby (tenor & soprano saxophones)
  • Michael Attias (alto & baritone saxophones)
  • Nasheet Waits (drums)
  • Satoshi Takeishi (percussion)
  • Adam Kolker (flute, alto flute, bass clarinet)

Track Listing:

  1. La Reine de la Salle, 4:39
  2. Aerid Landscape, 8:53
  3. Run for the Hills, 7:16
  4. Blind Pig, 5:35
  5. Ciao Monkey, 6:58
  6. Cajun Christmas, 6:17
  7. Fez, 8:52
  8. For A.H., 4:40
  9. Fez II, 1:43
  10. New Belly, 5:22

External Reviews:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s